Our website representing Llangan Community Council, the Llangan, Treoes, St Mary Hill and Ruthin communities and the surrounding area

Your Councillors

Your Community Councillors are all volunteers who are committed to the communities which they serve – they are not paid employees of the Community Council. They are held accountable by local people for things that happen locally; so why do you they get involved?  The answer is because they want to do something positive for their local community and make a difference by influencing decisions that affect your community.

Full details on the role and responsibility of your Community Councillors can be found by following this link to the Good Councillors Guide

To contact one of your Community Councillors, you should send your email via the Clerk. The Clerk is also available on 07594 902413.  All correspondence should be emailed or sent to the Clerk at 1 White House, Barry, CF62 6FB. No Community Councillors are affiliated to a political party.

There are currently eight Councillors and there are no vacancies on the Community Council. The Councillors represent the community as a whole as well as the individual villages as follows:

Name PositonRepresentingStatus
Cllr Keith JonesChairRuthin/St. Mary HillCo-opted
Cllr Louise BrookesSt. Mary HillElected
Cllr Laura HowellsVice ChairSt Mary HillCo-opted
Cllr David HammondLlanganElected
Cllr Beatrice Hayball-Jones TreoesElected
Cllr Nigel BlethynTreoesElected
Cllr Paula WilsonTreoesCo-opted
Cllr Karl JonesTreoesElected

The Community Council is represented on the following local bodies as follows:

  • Representative Treoes Community Hall: Cllr Paula Wilson
  • Representative Llangan and St. Mary Hill Community Hall: Cllr Dave Hammond
  • School governor at Llangan Primary School: Cllr Louise Brookes
  • Vale of Glamorgan Council, Community Liaison Representatives (+1 reserve): Cllr David Reed (reserve: Cllr Paula Wilson)
  • OVW Wales Local Representative: Cllr Nigel Blethyn

The community is represented on the Vale of Glamorgan Council by Cllr Christine Cave, who attends all meetings of the Community Council. Cllr Cave can be contacted by email at: cacave@valeofglamorgan.gov.uk

Councillors’ expenses

Community Councillors can claim an annual allowance of up to £150 to meet costs incurred when carrying out their duties e.g. those relating to printing of documents, telephone calls and general consumables.

For the financial year ending on 31st March 2021 the following Llangan Community Councillors claimed the allowance:

NameAmount claimed
Cllr Keith Jones Nil
Cllr Louise Brookes Nil
Cllr David Hammond £150
Cllr Beatrice Hayball-Jones £150
Cllr Nigel Blethyn Nil
Cllr Paula Wilson Nil
Cllr Karl Jones£150
Cllr David Reed£150
Cllr Laura Howells£150

No other expenses were claimed by the Community Councillors.

Councillors’ Code of Conduct

The Community Council has adopted the Welsh Ministers’ Model Code of Conduct in its entirety, which has set rigorous ethical standards to which those in public life must adhere. All your councillors are required to comply fully with the Code and have willingly declared that they are committed to doing so both in terms of the letter and spirit of the Code’s requirements. The Code ensures that that Community Council conducts its business openly and objectively in the interests of the community and is not influenced by personal interests or prejudicial connections – all of which are defined by the Code.

The Public Service Ombudsman for Wales has published a guide to the Code, which outlines its requirements, the Ombudsman’s expectations, and the actions that can be taken by the Ombudsman if the Community Council does not comply with it.

The Guide to the Code is detailed in full here.

Declarations of Interest

Your Community Councillors have a duty to disclose personal or prejudicial interests they may have in a matter being considered by the Community Council. This is a requirement of the Code of Conduct and the Public Service Ombudsman for Wales (please see the aforementioned guides).

Personal interests relate to issues where a councillor or a close personal associate of the councillor may have some link to a matter under discussion.  These interests become prejudicial where an informed independent observer could conclude that the interest would influence how a councillor might vote, or a decision the councillor may support.

Your Community Councillors must declare these interests, which are noted in the minutes of the Council’s ordinary general meetings and recorded in the Community Council’s Register of Interest.

The interests declared by your councillors in 2020/21 are detailed here.

The Council’s procedures

In addition to the Code of Conduct, the Community Council operates within an agreed set of organisational procedures and policies, which ensure the accountability, objectivity and effective management of the Community Council. They include the Community Council’s Standing Orders, Financial Regulations and Annual Risk Assessment. These documents are reviewed every year; the 2020/21 versions are outlined below:

Interested in being a Councillor?

The Community Councillors are either elected by the local community or co-opted to the Community Council by the members e.g. where a vacancy occurs between one local election and the next. If you would be interested in more details on becoming a community councillor please email the Clerk for more information.

Comments are closed.